Which indoor sports are allowed under the new covid-19 ‘rule of six’? The ‘rule of six’ has been introduced in England and Wales, while Scotland has banned households mixing indoors altogether. This means there can’t be gatherings of more than six people, indoors or outdoors.

As the weather turns colder, what does that mean for your favourite indoor sports?

Boris Johnson, in his announcement regarding further covid-19 restrictions, also lifted the exemption from the rule of six for indoor sports.

This means indoor sports are only allowed if players play in groups of six or fewer. The restrictions are scheduled to last for the next six months.


For example, five-a-side football isn’t permitted according to the new rules as that would make ten players across two teams. Team sports are most affected by this rule, with rugby, netball, basketball and volleyball falling into the category of banned team sports. However, outdoor sports are still exempt to these restrictions.

Now we have an idea about what indoor sports are banned, what indoor sports are currently allowed?

Indoor sports that require six or fewer are allowed. Here’s a list to give you a better idea:

Photo by Joshua Jamias on Unsplash
  • Combat sports (boxing, kickboxing, MMA, wrestling, Brazilian ju-jitsu, judo etc)
  • Golf
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Badminton
  • Fencing
  • Bowling
  • Table tennis
  • Chess
  • Shooting
  • Skateboarding
  • Gymnastics
  • Squash
  • Climbing
  • Bowls

It’s worth noting gyms aren’t affected by this new rule for indoor sports, although you’re advised to keep a safe distance from other people and always clean equipment after using it.

Have something to tell us about this article?