Who is Ty Gibbs? NASCAR Hall of Fame family links explained

Jake Nichol September 17, 2021
Who is Ty Gibbs? NASCAR Hall of Fame family links explained
Photo by Jared C. Tilton/Getty Images

Ty Gibbs extended his ARCA Menards Series points lead with his 10th win of the season at Bristol. Who is the impressive 18-year-old who has also stared in the XFinity Series in 2021, and which member of his family is in the NASCAR Hall of Fame?

Ty Gibbs stars in 2021 season

Gibbs’ 10th victory of the ARCA Menards Series season puts him at the top of the standings with just two races remaining in the season.

He is 16 points clear of Corey Heim in the series that is a feeder into the main NASCAR tour of Cup/XFinity/Trucks.

The 18-year-old has also made select appearances this season in the XFinity Series – the second rung of the stock car racing ladder.

His made his debut on the Daytona road course in February.

Driving the #54 Toyota machine, he not only won stage two, but also went on to take the win.

Photo by Chris Graythen/Getty Images

Since then, he has appeared in a further 13 appearances, posting some impressive stats.

Further wins have come at Charlotte and on the Watkins Glen road course.

In addition to the three wins, Gibbs has also scooped six top 10 results – including seventh last time out at Richmond.

He will roll off third in the XFinity Series race at Bristol on Friday night.

Whilst Gibbs has not yet announced his race programme for 2022, it would be a fair assumption to make that he will step up to the XFinity Series full-time.

NASCAR 21: Ignition | Trailer

NASCAR 21: Ignition | Trailer

Gibbs’ family well established in NASCAR

As the surname might suggest, Gibbs is the grandson of NASCAR Hall of Famer ‘Coach’ Joe Gibbs.

His appearances in the XFinity Series this season have all come at the wheel of a Joe Gibbs Racing entry.

His father is Coy Gibbs – one of Coach Gibbs’ two sons.

In his long career, Coach Gibbs has overseen 193 Cup Series wins and 182 XFinity successes.

On top of that, his cars have won four Daytona 500s (1993, 2016, 2019, 2020) and five Cup Series titles.

His Cup champions are: Bobby Labonte (2000), Tony Stewart (2002, 2005) and Kyle Busch (2015, 2019).

Photo by Sean Gardner/Getty Images

Have something to tell us about this article?
Let us know
Jake can usually be found writing about or watching anything to do with motorsport – from Formula 1 to NASCAR to British Truck Racing. His work as a motorsport journalist has been published by the likes of Autosport, Motorsport.com and Motorsport News – all highly respected names. Away from racing he is a keen amateur astronomer, podcast listener and enjoys long walks in the park with his three dogs.