As the Indianapolis road course is a new circuit for the Cup Series, it is one event in 2021 where qualifying has been run. But who will start the first-ever race on the road course from pole position?

Byron eclipses team-mates

Hendrick Motorsports continued its strong form on road courses, as William Byron secured pole in the #24.

He was the only driver to break the 100mph barrier in the pole shootout, lapping the 14 turn circuit in 1m:27.765s.

Byron will be joined on the front-row for the rolling start at Indy by Chase Briscoe in the #14 Stewart Haas Racing machine.

It is the seventh pole position of Byron’s Cup career.

Series road course specialist Chase Elliott will take off in third place, ahead of team-mate Kyle Larson.

Joint series points leader Kyle Larson, who won the Knoxville Nationals overnight will start in fourth.

AUTO: AUG 14 NASCAR Cup Series - Verizon 200 at the Brickyard
Photo by Jeff Robinson/Icon Sportswire via Getty Images

Big names fail to advance

Qualifying was split into two segments, with the fastest 12 from the first session advancing through.

The likes of Denny Hamlin, Kyle Busch, Kevin Harvick and Brad Keselowski all failed to advance through to the second segment.

Hamlin will roll off in 14th as the second best Toyota – behind team-mate Truex in fourth.

Kurt Busch qualified 0.006s faster than brother Kyle for 20th and 21st, respectively.

Both Harvick (SHR) and Keselowski (Penske) struggled and qualified well down the order.

Harvick could manage 25th fastest, and Keselowski feared even worse with P31, 1.6s behind Larson, who was quickest in Q1.

When is the NASCAR race?

The race, the third to last in the regular season before the playoffs begin is scheduled for a 1:13pm ET green flag.

It will a 82-lap affair, split into 15-20-47 lap stages.

40 cars are due to take the green flag.

Grid for the race

  1. William Byron
  2. Chase Briscoe
  3. Chase Elliott
  4. Kyle Larson
  5. Daniel Suarez
  6. Martin Truex Jr
  7. Joey Logano
  8. AJ Allmendinger
  9. Ross Chastain
  10. Cole Custer
  11. Tyler Reddick
  12. Michael McDowell
  13. Austin Cindric
  14. Denny Hamlin
  15. Matt DiBenedetto
  16. Ryan Blaney
  17. Christopher Bell
  18. Aric Almirola
  19. Chris Buescher
  20. Kurt Busch
  21. Kyle Busch
  22. Ricky Stenhouse Jr
  23. Austin Dillon
  24. Alex Bowman
  25. Kevin Harvick
  26. Corey LaJoie
  27. Bubba Wallace
  28. Erik Jones
  29. Justin Haley
  30. Ryan Preece
  31. Brad Keselowski
  32. Ryan Newman
  33. Anthony Alfredo
  34. James Davison
  35. Andy Lally
  36. Josh Bilicki
  37. Cody Ware
  38. Quin Houff
  39. Garrett Smithley
  40. Timmy Hill
NASCAR Cup Series Verizon 200 at the Brickyard Qualifying
Photo by Sean Gardner/Getty Images

Related Topics