You can now leave comments on the articles that matter to you. Find out more here

When was Daniel Ricciardo's last Formula One win and how many grands prix has he won?

Jake Nichol September 13, 2021
When was Daniel Ricciardo's last Formula One win and how many grands prix has he won?
Photo by Bryn Lennon/Getty Images

Daniel Ricciardo ended his long winless run in Formula One, by securing Italian Grand Prix victory at Monza. But when was his last win in F1, and how many times has he won a grand prix?

Daniel Ricciardo’s first win in over three years

Daniel Ricciardo’s win at the Italian Grand Prix was not lucky, and didn’t come only after the collision between Lewis Hamilton and Max Verstappen

He started on the front row, and aced his only realistic opportunity to pass pole-sitter Verstappen – on the run and under braking into Turn 1.

The McLaren then held the Red Bull at bay through the first stint, and would have held a decent lead over Verstappen and Hamilton after their respective slow pitstops.

Photo by Peter Van Egmond/Getty Images

Had they not collided, they would have closed in on Ricciardo.

It would have been a challenge to hold on, but Ricciardo had the pace to put up a fight, if required.

It sealed his first win in 67 grand prix starts, stretching all the way back to early 2018.

Ricciardo’s last win was Monaco redemption

The last time that Ricciardo tasted success in a grand prix was the 2018 Monaco Grand Prix – his final season at Red Bull.

It came two years after he was cruelly denied in the principality after a Red Bull tyre mishap at a pitstop.

He pitted for dry tyres after a damp start, but the pit crew weren’t ready for him.

Despite a blistering in-lap, the time lost in the stop was enough for Hamilton to emerge narrowly ahead, denying Ricciardo a maiden win in Monaco.

In 2018, he crushed the opposition.

Photo by Xavier Bonilla/NurPhoto via Getty Images

The #3 Red Bull was fastest in every practice and qualifying session, taking a commanding pole.

In the race, the MGU-K component of the Renault power unit failed, costing Ricciardo seconds in laptime.

He managed to nurse the crippled car home ahead of Sebastian Vettel and Hamilton.

It was his first win from pole position in F1, as he led every lap.

The only blot on the copybook from Ricciardo’s seventh grand prix success was that he did not set fastest lap.

Teammate Verstappen grabbed the accolade, denying Ricciardo a first grand chelem in F1.

When was Daniel Ricciardo’s first grand prix win?

Ricciardo’s maiden grand prix win came in the 2014 Canadian GP, after Mercedes pair Hamilton and Nico Rosberg hit trouble.

Mercedes had crushed the opposition in the opening races of the 2014 campaign – the first of the turbo hybrid era.

In Montreal, the MGU-K units on both cars failed, leaving 160bhp down.

Hamilton retired with brake failure a few laps later, as Rosberg nursed his ailing machine.

Ricciardo was running third, with Sergio Perez in second, acting as a mobile chicane and protecting Rosberg.

Photo by Mark Thompson/Getty Images

Ricciardo got past on Lap 68 of 70, with the race ending under the safety car for a collision between Perez and Felipe Massa.

It was the first win for an Australian driver since Mark Webber at the 2012 British GP.

Two more wins in 2014 as Mercedes falters

Four races later, Ricciardo claimed his second win in a wet/dry Hungarian GP.

Hamilton started from the pitlane following a car fire in qualifying as Rosberg took pole.

The Briton spun off on lap one and nudged the barrier.

However, Rosberg’s early lead was eradicated by an untimely safety car deployment.

Marcus Ericsson crashed heavily, but the timing of the safety car meant the leading gaggle had to do a full lap before they could pit.

Ricciardo was in a bunch of cars who managed to enter the pit-lane straight away.

It vaulted him to a lead he would trade with Fernando Alonso in the Ferrari.

The Spanish driver was leading on lap 68 of 70, when Ricciardo, on fresher tyres lunged the #14 into Turn 1.

He then eased to the win with Alonso and Hamilton completing the podium.

Next time out at Spa, Ricciardo benefited from a Mercedes meltdown once again.

On lap two, Rosberg clipped the rear of Hamilton, puncturing the rear tyre of the #44 Merc.

Photo by Clive Mason/Getty Images

Rosberg required a front wing change, which allowed Ricciardo to take the lead – the Australian taking the win by 3.383s.

He was in position to do so after teammate Vettel ran wide at Pouhon early on, allowing the #3 of Ricciardo to pass, and ultimately get the position once Rosberg pitted for that fresh front wing.

Next win would not be for two years

Ricciardo was the only non-Mercedes driver to win in 2014, but he did not do so in ’15.

His next victory would not be until the 2016 Malaysian GP.

He had just defended an attack from new teammate Verstappen when leader Hamilton’s power unit failed.

After Hamilton’s fiery exit, Ricciardo eased to the win in Red Bull’s first one-two finish of the turbo hybrid era.

Photo by Charles Coates/Getty Images

It would be his sole win of 2016.

The fifth grand prix win of Ricciardo’s F1 career came in the 2017 Azerbaijan GP – an eventful race.

Starting 10th after a crash in qualifying, Ricciardo pitted early to remove debris from his brake ducts.

Up front, Vettel rammed Hamilton after the German felt the leader had brake-tested him under a safety car.

A few laps later, the race was red flagged for debris after Force India duo Perez and Esteban Ocon collided.

After the restart, Vettel was given a 10s stop/go penalty for hitting Hamilton.

However, the Mercedes wasn’t without problems.

Hamilton’s headrest was not fitted properly after the red flag, with race control ordering him to pit to fit a new one.

This promoted Ricciardo to a lead he would not lose.

Photo by Peter J Fox/Getty Images

Daniel Ricciardo gets two wins in final Red Bull season

At the third round of the 2018 season, Ricciardo was in danger of missing qualifying altogether.

He suffered an engine failure in third practice, with the Red Bull crew getting him out just in time to set a lap.

He would qualify sixth fastest.

On race day, Red Bull were able to pit both Ricciardo and Verstappen under a timely safety car whereas leader Valtteri Bottas and Vettel could not.

On the restart, Verstappen tried to go around the outside of Hamilton, and lost position.

Ricciardo passed the sister Red Bull, and hunted down those ahead.

He dived past leader Bottas on lap 45 of 56 to take the lead, and pulled away for a comfortable triumph.

Ricciardo’s only other podium finish that year was the win in Monaco three races later.

Photo by Visual China Group via Getty Images/Visual China Group via Getty Images

LOGIN to Comment
LOGIN to Comment
Have something to tell us about this article?
Let us know
Jake can usually be found writing about or watching anything to do with motorsport – from Formula 1 to NASCAR to British Truck Racing. His work as a motorsport journalist has been published by the likes of Autosport, and Motorsport News – all highly respected names. Away from racing he is a keen amateur astronomer, podcast listener and enjoys long walks in the park with his three dogs.