Verstappen wins 2021 Dutch Grand Prix: Which other drivers have won their home race?

Jake Nichol September 5, 2021
Verstappen wins 2021 Dutch Grand Prix: Which other drivers have won their home race?
Photo by Peter Fox/Getty Images

Red Bull’s Max Verstappen regained the championship lead with a comfortable victory in the 2021 Dutch Grand Prix – his home race. Which other drivers on the current grid have tasted success in their home grand prix?

Verstappen secures dominant win in 2021 Dutch Grand Prix

Verstappen had a relatively untroubled cruise to his seventh victory of the 2021 season at Zandvoort from pole.

Title rival Lewis Hamilton was unable to get within one second of Verstappen, despite trying to undercut the Dutch driver.

Verstappen only gave up the lead through the first cycle of pitstops, when Mercedes left Valtteri Bottas out.

It hoped that Bottas would back Verstappen into Hamilton, and although the Red Bull did lose time, Hamilton could not make a move.

Verstappen took the win in front of his adoring home fans on the Dutch coast, with Hamilton and Bottas completing the podium.

Every other driver who finished the race was lapped.

He now leads the championship with 224.5 points to Hamilton’s 221.5.

Photo by Lars Baron/Getty Images

Verstappen’s win in the 2021 Dutch Grand Prix has meant he has become the latest driver to win his home grand prix in F1.

Not every driver on the current grid has a home grand prix – such as Finland’s Bottas.

However, now including Verstappen four drivers have won their home race.

Who else has won home race after 2021 Dutch Grand Prix?

It is worth noting that of the four drivers to have claimed victory in their home grand prix, Verstappen is the only non-champion.

The first driver to taste success in his own country was Spain’s Fernando Alonso in during his first spell at Renault.

Although he did not win at home in his first title-winning season of 2005, he did in 2006 as the reigning world champion.

Having plonked his #1 Renault on pole position, it was a comfortable afternoon for the Spaniard.

He took his third win of the season from six races to increase his championship lead over Michael Schumacher.

Photo by Clive Mason/Getty Images

It was also the start of a four race winning sequence for Alonso – the best of his career, which took in Monaco, Britain and Canada.

Seven years later, Alonso would win the Spanish GP for a second time – this time in a Ferrari.

After a near title miss in 2012, his win at the Circuit de Barcelona-Catalunya was the second in the first five grands prix.

However, to date, this second win on home soil is Alonso’s last in F1.

Since then, he has started 123 grands prix, with a best finish of second in the 2014 Hungarian GP – also his last podium.

Hamilton a home record-breaker

No driver in F1 history has more wins at their home grand prix than Hamilton.

He has clocked up eight wins at Silverstone from his 15 British GP starts.

His first is probably the best drive in his career.

F1 2021 | Accolades Trailer

F1 2021 | Accolades Trailer

It came in 2008 as rain lashed Silverstone.

Starting fourth, Hamilton was soon into the lead after passing teammate Heikki Kovalinen.

The Brit then simply drove away from the field.

He won by 66 seconds to secure his first British GP success.

Hamilton would not win again for McLaren at Silverstone as the team struggled at the venue.

His switch to Mercedes brought about further success.

Between 2014-2017, Hamilton was undefeated at Silverstone.

The run was ended by Sebastian Vettel in a blistering 2018 event, after pole-sitter Hamilton was tipped into a spin on the opening lap.

Hamilton rebounded in 2019 with a dominant display, before memorably crossing the line on three wheels in ’20.

The left front failed on the final lap of the race, forcing the Mercedes to limp to the line.

His 2021 victory was controversial, after a first lap collision with title rival Verstappen left the Dutchman in hospital.

Photo by Dan Istitene – Formula 1/Formula 1 via Getty Images

Vettel’s sole win at home

For all the success Vettel has had in F1 – four world championships and 53 wins – only home has come in Germany.

He delivered it in his most dominant campaign – 2013.

Held at the Nurburgring, the then Red Bull driver saw off the challenge from Lotus pair Kimi Raikkonen and Romain Grosjean.

It was one of a record-equaling 13 wins for Vettel that year as he romped to his fourth consecutive title.

In 2018, now at Ferrari, Vettel had another chance to win – this time at his home circuit of Hockenheim.

In slippery conditions, he slid off into the gravel from the lead as light rain began to fall.

Hamilton would go on to and claim the initiative in their title battle – one that Vettel could not wrestle back.

Photo by Getty Images/Getty Images

Have something to tell us about this article?
Let us know
Jake can usually be found writing about or watching anything to do with motorsport – from Formula 1 to NASCAR to British Truck Racing. His work as a motorsport journalist has been published by the likes of Autosport, and Motorsport News – all highly respected names. Away from racing he is a keen amateur astronomer, podcast listener and enjoys long walks in the park with his three dogs.