You can now leave comments on the articles that matter to you. Find out more here

Lewis Hamilton reaches 100 wins: Which races has he never won in his career?

Jake Nichol November 21, 2021
Lewis Hamilton reaches 100 wins: Which races has he never won in his career?
Photo by Peter Fox/Getty Images


Lewis Hamilton became the first Formula One driver to reach 100 grand prix wins in Russia. He’s won more races and at more tracks than any other driver – but which races has he never won?

Lewis Hamilton the first driver to 100 wins

Hamilton had been stuck on 99 wins since the British Grand Prix in July.

He started the Russian GP at Sochi fourth on the grid after a scrappy final segment to qualifying on Saturday.

At lights out, Hamilton was mired in the midfield, stuck behind Daniel Ricciardo’s McLaren.

Mercedes opted to run long, stretching for a one-stop strategy.

F1® Mobile Racing | 2021 Season Update Trailer

F1® Mobile Racing | 2021 Season Update Trailer

A slow stop for Ricciardo allowed Hamilton leapfrog the Australian and then begin to close in on net race leader Lando Norris.

Hamilton tracked Norris, steadily whittling away at the gap, until he was in DRS range, as the rain closed in.

Where Norris hesitated over whether to fit intermediate tyres, Hamilton pitted for the change.

Conditions got worse, allowing Hamilton to carve chunks of time out of Norris, who couldn’t keep the McLaren on the track.

Hamilton would pass and go onto take the win, ahead of title rival Max Verstappen.

The Briton became the first driver to record three figures in terms of F1 wins, and regain the championship lead by two points.

While Hamilton has now won 100 races and won more different races than anyone else, there are some races he has not yet to date, and some where he never will, take the win at.

Let’s take a look:

F1 races Hamilton could potentially win in future

In his 285 starts in F1, Hamilton has raced in 35 different grands prix. He has won 29 of them.

This leaves six races the seven-time champion has not claimed victory at.

The first is the European Grand Prix.

This moniker is used rarely, but was a mainstay of the calendar between Hamilton’s debut year of 2007 and 2012.

His most memorable moments in a European GP came in 2007 at the Nurburgring and in ’12 at Valencia.

In the former, he crashed heavily after a tyre failure in qualifying, leading to his first non-podium finish in the series.

At Valencia, on the last lap, Pastor Maldonado clipped Hamilton on the last lap, sending the McLaren into the barrier.

Photo by Paul Gilham/Getty Images

The last time the European GP was run was in 2016, in Baku.

Hamilton laboured to fifth, having struggled with engine settings throughout the race.

It’s not inconceivable that a European GP could return to the calendar, so Hamilton could yet still claim a win in the event.

The same can be said of the Dutch Grand Prix.

Hamilton has raced once in the Dutch GP, a few weeks ago at Zandvoort. He finished second to Verstappen.

Although Hamilton was two wins in the Mexican Grand Prix at Circuit Hermanos Rodriguez, there is a race here that he has not won.

For 2021, it was renamed the Mexico City Grand Prix – and Hamilton finished second.

It is conceivable he could win this race in the future.

Photo by Hasan Bratic/DeFodi Images via Getty Images

Two races Lewis Hamilton could add to 100 wins at – if they return

The Korean and Indian Grands Prix mark two events Hamilton never won in their brief slots on the calendar.

Korean joined in 2010, India a year later. By 2014, both were gone.

Hamilton did claim a pole position in Korea 2011, but lost out to Sebastian Vettel.

Second would be his best result in Korea.

Photo by Clive Rose/Getty Images

As for India, the only way to win there was if you’re name was Vettel and you had a Red Bull.

The German only failed to lead 28 laps across the three visits F1 made to the Buddh circuit, before it fell away due to tax issues with the national government.

The one F1 race Hamilton will never win

In response to the pandemic and cancelled races in 2020, Silverstone held two F1 races that year.

The second, after the British GP, was officially known as the 70th Anniversary Grand Prix.

It celebrated 70 years since the world championship was incepted back in 1950.

On a day Mercedes struggled with its tyres, Hamilton salvaged second place behind Verstappen.

Photo by Will Oliver/Pool via Getty Images

The race will never return to the calendar.

Circuits Hamilton has not won at

Hamilton has a record eight wins apiece at the Hungaroring and at Silverstone.

He’s won at 30 of the 35 tracks he’s raced at in F1, with Qatar being the latest win to take him to 102 grand prix wins.

As outlined above, four of those he’s never won at include Yeognam in Korea and Buddh in India.

He failed to win at the Valencia Street Circuit when it hosted the European GP, and at Zandvoort for his sole Dutch GP start to date.

There is just one other circuit Hamilton has never won at.

In Hamilton’s first two seasons in F1, the French GP was held at Magny-Cours.

He claimed third place in 2007, but could only manage 10th a year later, in a scrappy race.

He would go onto win the French GP when it returned to the calendar at Paul Ricard in 2018, and again in 2019.

Photo by Clive Rose/Getty Images

LOGIN to Comment
LOGIN to Comment
Have something to tell us about this article?
Let us know
Jake can usually be found writing about or watching anything to do with motorsport – from Formula 1 to NASCAR to British Truck Racing. His work as a motorsport journalist has been published by the likes of Autosport, and Motorsport News – all highly respected names. Away from racing he is a keen amateur astronomer, podcast listener and enjoys long walks in the park with his three dogs.