You can now leave comments on the articles that matter to you. Find out more here

How many F1 world champions are there after Max Verstappen claims title in Abu Dhabi?

Jake Nichol December 12, 2021
How many F1 world champions are there after Max Verstappen claims title in Abu Dhabi?
Photo by Joe Portlock - Formula 1/Formula 1 via Getty Images


For now at least, Max Verstappen is the new Formula One world champion, dethroning Lewis Hamilton – but just how many F1 world champions are there in grand prix racing?

Verstappen’s title was in doubt after Mercedes lodged two protests with the FIA about the ending of the grand prix and the safety car restart.

The FIA promptly threw both appeals out, thereby confirming Verstappen as the 2021 world champion, ending Hamilton’s four-year reign as champion.

But how many F1 world champions have there been in the 72 years of the world championship?

Lets take a look:

REVEALED: How much does Max Verstappen get for winning the F1 world title?

Photo by Mario Renzi – Formula 1/Formula 1 via Getty Images

F1 world champions revealed

In total, 770 drivers have taken part in a world championship grand prix since the very first one at the 1950 British Grand Prix at Silverstone.

111 of them have become grand prix winners with Esteban Ocon the latest at the 2021 Hungarian Grand Prix.

But even fewer number have been able to call themselves ‘Formula 1 World Champion.’

Verstappen is the 34th driver to claim the world title – and the first Dutch driver to do so.

  • TRENDING: Is Max Verstappen the youngest F1 world champion?

He is the first non British or German driver to take the crown since Finland’s Kimi Raikkonen in 2007.

Graham Hill (1962, 1968) and Damon Hill (1996) were the first father/son duo become world champions.

The Rosbergs (Keke, 1982) and Nico (2016) have since matched that feat.

The only posthumous world champion was Jochen Rindt in 1970, killed at Monza before he could claim his title.

Photo credit should read ANDREJ ISAKOVIC/AFP via Getty Images

Which countries are they from?

In total 15 different countries have provided a world champion.

Great Britain has had 10 drivers crowned, with Germany, Brazil and Finland on three the most successful.

Argentina, France, Spain, New Zealand, South Africa, Canada and now the Netherlands have all provided one world champion each.

Who are the F1 world champions?

Below is a list of champions, sorted by the world champion number they hold.

  • 1. Giuseppe Farina – Italy – one title
  • 2. Juan Manuel Fangio – Argentina – five
  • 3. Alberto Ascari -Italy – two
  • 4. Mike Hawthorn – Great Britain – one
  • 5. Jack Brabham – Australia – three
  • 6. Phil Hill – United States – one
  • 7. Graham Hill – Great Britain – two
  • 8. Jim Clark – Great Britain – two
  • 9. John Surtees – Great Britain – one
  • 10. Denny Hulme – New Zealand – one
  • 11. Jackie Stewart – Great Britain – three
  • 12. Jochen Rindt (below) – Austria – one (posthumous)
  • REVEALED: Are there any eight-time champions in motorsport after Lewis Hamilton defeat?
Photo by Bernard Cahier/Getty Images
  • 13. Emerson Fittipaldi – Brazil – two
  • 14. Niki Lauda – Austria – three
  • 15. James Hunt – Great Britain – one
  • 16. Mario Andretti – United States – one
  • 17. Jody Scheckter – South Africa – one
  • 18. Alan Jones (below) – Australia – one
  • 19. Nelson Piquet – Brazil – three
  • 20. Keke Rosberg – Finland – one
  • 21. Alain Prost – France – four
  • 22. Ayrton Senna – Brazil – three
  • 23. Nigel Mansell – Great Britain – one
  • 24. Michael Schumacher – Germany – seven
13 Jul 1980: Williams Ford driver Alan Jones wins the Formula One British Grand Prix at Brands Hatch in Kent, England. \ Mandatory Credit: Steve Powell /Allsport

  • 25. Damon Hill – Great Britain – one
  • 26. Jacques Villeneuve – Canada – one
  • 27. Mika Hakkinen – Finland – one
  • 28. Fernando Alonso – Spain – two
  • 29. Kimi Raikkonen – Finland – one
  • 30. Lewis Hamilton (below) – Great Britain – seven
  • 31. Jenson Button – Great Britain – one
  • 32. Sebastian Vettel – Germany – four
  • 33. Nico Rosberg (below) – Germany – one
  • 34. Max Verstappen – Netherlands – one
  • REVEALED: Why Max Verstappen did not receive the World Championship Trophy on the podium
Photo by Clive Mason/Getty Images
LOGIN to Comment
LOGIN to Comment
Have something to tell us about this article?
Let us know
Jake can usually be found writing about or watching anything to do with motorsport – from Formula 1 to NASCAR to British Truck Racing. His work as a motorsport journalist has been published by the likes of Autosport, and Motorsport News – all highly respected names. Away from racing he is a keen amateur astronomer, podcast listener and enjoys long walks in the park with his three dogs.