Who won F1's free throw competition?

Jake Nichol October 23, 2021
Photo by Jared C. Tilton/Getty Images

Formula One drivers took part in a free throw competition at the United States GP, as part of a tie-up with the NBA, but which team and driver were the F1 free throw competition winners?

F1 and NBA link up ahead of US GP

With F1 finally getting a foothold in the United States, and the NBA season starting, a tie-up between the two brands was unveiled earlier this week.

F1 even provided some mock-up liveries of NBA franchises on a 2022-spec car.

As part of the link, drivers took part in a free throw competition at the Austin circuit ahead of the on-track action.

Each driver was allocated 10 shots, with their joint totals adding together for a total team score.

The winners would receive $20,000 for a charity of their choice.

F1 2021 | October Free Content Updates Trailer

BridTV
5851
F1 2021 | October Free Content Updates Trailer
https://i.ytimg.com/vi/5J5Fzpzbz6g/hqdefault.jpg
883900
883900
center
22886

F1 free throw competition winner revealed

The combined efforts Sebastian Vettel and Lance Stroll was enough to clinch the win for Aston Martin.

Stroll got six from his 10 attempts, whereas Vettel could only manage three.

However, their nine baskets from 20 shots was not bettered as they emerged victorious.

Second place went to Haas as Mick Schumacher (five) and Nikita Mazepin (three) posted eight baskets.

The AlphaTauri pair or Yuki Tsunoda and Pierre Gasly got four and three, respectively for third place.

Daniel Ricciardo top scored with seven from 10.

George Russell missed all his shots, with Max Verstappen only claiming two successful shots from his allocation.

When is the US GP?

Qualifying is planned for 10pm UK time on Saturday, 23rd October.

That’s 4pm CST, and 5pm ET.

The race will take place on Sunday, 24th October.

It is scheduled for an 8pm start time in the UK.

That is 2pm CST, and 3pm ET.

Photo by Chris Graythen/Getty Images

Have something to tell us about this article?
Let us know
Jake can usually be found writing about or watching anything to do with motorsport – from Formula 1 to NASCAR to British Truck Racing. His work as a motorsport journalist has been published by the likes of Autosport, Motorsport.com and Motorsport News – all highly respected names. Away from racing he is a keen amateur astronomer, podcast listener and enjoys long walks in the park with his three dogs.