You can now leave comments on the articles that matter to you. Find out more here

When is the new Modest Mouse album out (2021)? The Golden Casket release date

Eve Edwards May 5, 2021
When is the new Modest Mouse album out (2021)? The Golden Casket release date
Photo by Miikka Skaffari/Getty Images

Modest Mouse fans are in luck, as news of a new album for 2021 has been announced.

The American rock band’s last project, Strangers to Ourselves, was released back in 2015. Fans of the band have been eagerly anticipating their new music. Find out when The Golden Casket (2021) is to be released.

  • MUSIC: A peek into drummer Dave Grohl’s family life
Photo by Paul R. Giunta/Getty Images

Modest Mouse announce new album for 2021

On 5 May 2021, it was announced that Modest Mouse would be releasing a new album this year.

The long-awaited follow-up to Strangers To Ourselves has been produced by Dave Sardy and Jacknife Lee. The 12-track album was recorded at Modest Mouse’s studio in Portland, Oregon and in Los Angeles.

To give Modest Mouse fans a little surprise along with the album announcement, the band released “We Are Between,” the album’s second track.

  • TV: Fox viewers can’t stop staring at Tucker Carlson’s ‘split’ lip

When will Modest Mouse’s new album, The Golden Casket, be released?

  • 25 June 2021

The wait for The Golden Casket is not too long, as Modest Mouse fans can expect the new album on 25 June.

Their last album was released on 17 March 2015, leaving over six years between albums.

  • TRENDING: What happened to Elton John’s mother, Sheila?

The Golden Casket: Track listing

We already have the track listing for this new album, giving us a sense of The Golden Casket’s direction.

  1. F*** Your Acid Trip
  2. We Are Between
  3. We’re Lucky
  4. Walking and Running
  5. Wooden Soldiers
  6. Transmitting Receiving
  7. The Sun Hasn’t Left
  8. Lace Your Shoes
  9. Never F*** A Spider On The Fly
  10. Leave A Light On
  11. Japanese Trees
  12. Back To The Middle

The album’s press release reads: “The album hovers in the liminal space between raw punk power and experimental studio science, frontman Isaac Brock explores themes ranging from the degradation of our psychic landscapes and invisible technology, to fatherhood […] The twelve tracks behave like amorphous organisms, undergoing dramatic mutations and mood swings that speak to the chronic tug-of-war between hope and despair that plays out in Brock’s head.”

LOGIN to Comment
LOGIN to Comment
Have something to tell us about this article?
Let us know
Eve spends her days writing about everything culture-related. From celebrity news to music, film and television, Eve covers all bases. When she’s not writing you can find her making music or mastering the art of homemade pasta.