You can now leave comments on the articles that matter to you. Find out more here

Metallica's 40th anniversary concert setlist will give you FOMO

Yasmine Leung December 20, 2021
Metallica's 40th anniversary concert setlist will give you FOMO
Photo by Richard Rodriguez/Getty Images

Metallica celebrated their 40th anniversary with a concert in their home town, so here’s their exact concert setlist – don’t get jealous!

Formed in 1981 by James Hetfield and Lars Ulrich, rock legends Metallica celebrated their 40th anniversary with two special concerts in their home town of San Francisco at the Chase Center.

On 17 and 19 December, thousands of rockers in their Fifth Member fan club gathered to witness hits from Metallica’s ten albums. Thankfully, those who weren’t able to bag a ticket were able to stream the concert via Amazon Prime Video.

Unfortunately, it was only available live so here’s the complete setlist so you know what you missed.

  • NEW: Who is Noel Bianca? Drakeo The Ruler’s girlfriend mourns rapper’s death

Severance | Official Teaser | Apple TV+

Severance | Official Teaser | Apple TV+

Metallica’s 40th anniversary concert setlist – night one

Performing hits in chronological order, the band started off with Hit The Lights – from debut album Kill ‘Em All – after super-fan Jason Momoa narrated a video montage looking back at Metallica’s journey since the Eighties.

Night one’s two-hour set concluded with Spit Out The Bone from their last studio album, Hardwired… To Self-Destruct (2016), before the members spent ten minutes wandering the stage to say goodbye to fans.

  1. Hit The Lights
  2. Creeping Death
  3. Trapped Under Ice
  4. Welcome Home (Sanitarium)
  5. Orion
  6. The Shortest Straw
  7. One
  8. Sad But True
  9. Nothing Else Matters
  10. King Nothing
  11. Fixxxer
  12. Breadfan
  13. No Leaf Clover
  14. Frantic
  15. The DA That Never Comes
  16. Spit Out The Bone

Night two set list

While night one began with the oldest songs, the four members played their hits in reverse order on night two, from latest to oldest.

Starting with Hardwire, Metallica ended with Seek & Destroy.

  1. Hardwire
  2. The End Of The Line
  3. Dirty Window
  4. I Disappear
  5. Am I Evil
  6. The Memory Remains
  7. Fuel
  8. Bleeding Me
  9. Wasting My Hate
  10. The Unforgiven
  11. Enter Sandman
  12. Harvester Of Sorrow
  13. Master Of Puppets
  14. Fade To Black
  15. Whiplash
  16. Seek & Destroy

Relive the moments by listening to all the songs in their concert order via this fan-made playlist.

  • READ: Where is Stephen A. Smith on First Take this week?

The concert that blew the roof off the Chase Center

Although the band blew fans away with their set list, they didn’t literally blow the roof off the venue. Well they nearly did since residents living near the Chase Center were confused and concerned to hear rumbling coming from the area.

Fans have confirmed it was fireworks from the concert.

LOGIN to Comment
LOGIN to Comment
Have something to tell us about this article?
Let us know
Yasmine is a third-year Anthropology and Media student at Goldsmiths University with a new obsession with League of Legends, despite being really bad. She's always on social media keeping on top of the latest news and trends and is HITC’s expert in Korean pop culture. She also loves music, TV and fashion - her favourite things to write about.