There is no fighting game out there that has come as far as the Mortal Kombat franchise, and the latest DLC, Aftermath, is yet another glorious addition.

Few franchises have shaped any genre like Mortal Kombat and Street Fighter since the advent of video gaming.

MK11 was the sequel to MKX and received positive reviews as the NetherRealm Studios success story continued across all platforms. There was fierce criticism of MK11’s micro transactions and over-reliance on grinding, though.

Balance has been added with the release of Aftermath which includes a story mode expansion, three new characters, new stages, the return of stage fatalities and the friendship finishing move.

What happens in the game?

Mortal Kombat 11: Aftermath
Mortal Kombat 11: Aftermath

Following Kronika’s defeat, Fire God Liu Kang and Raiden attempt to utilise the Hourglass to restore history, when they are interrupted by Shang Tsung, Fujin, and Nightwolf – all of whom Kronika imprisoned in the Void for refusing to join her until her death freed them.

Shang Tsung elaborates that, due to Liu Kang destroying the Crown of Souls when he defeated Kronika, the Hourglass cannot be used to change history without destroying it. He convinces Liu Kang to send him, Fujin, and Nightwolf back in time to steal the Crown of Souls before Cetrion recovers it.

Though Raiden is distrustful of Shang Tsung’s motives, Liu Kang agrees and sends them back, staying behind to protect the Hourglass.

The new story is great fun even if there is not too much meat on the bone, but then what do we really expect from a DLC add-on?

Old faces and new additions

Mortal Kombat 11: Aftermath
Mortal Kombat 11: Aftermath

The three new characters in the MK11 mix are Fujin, RoboCop and Sheeva. But the star of the show really is Shang Tsung and Cary-Hiroyuki Tagawa brilliant performance as him.

Fighting felt more thrilling than I can ever remember, and brought me right back to that buzz when I first loaded up Mortal Kombat way back in 1992. The new story chapters boast exciting fight choreography and really give the new characters the stage to show what they can do.

Robocop is probably the least impressive addition and reminds me somewhat of my least favourite MK character Sektor – more suited to a stand-off fight style that is not my cup of tea. What I will say about Robocop, though, is it is cool to have him on the roster and he is surprisingly mobile.

Sheeva and Fujin are both great additions to MK11, though, and together the trio swell the overall roster to an impressive 34 characters.

A superb fighting game in its own right

There is an element of the new story being adding on just for the sake of it. Some of it feels padded and unnecessary but I will never complain at having a new reason to play Mortal Kombat, especially on its recent form.

Let’s make no mistake MK11 is already an utterly superb fighting game on its own. Aftermath only serves to enhance that, if by nothing else than the addition of the new characters.

MK fanboys and girls will lap this up but may expect a touch more bang for their buck. But for those who haven’t already got it – or indeed are getting it for the first time on the Switch – it is an absolute no-brainer.

A ‘kritical’ part of any console’s collection – see what I did there? I can’t wait to see what NetherRealm and Warner Bros come up next when harnessing the power of the new generation of consoles coming out later this year.

Out: Now

On: PS4, XB1 & Switch, Stadia & WindowsAftermath DLC

Rating: 8/10

Related Topics