Is KFC sauce vegan? 2022 Beyond Chicken launch opens up debate

Olivia Olphin January 12, 2022
Is KFC sauce vegan? 2022 Beyond Chicken launch opens up debate
Photo by Matthew Horwood/Getty Images

KFC has launched its ‘Beyond Chicken’ range for vegans. However, to many fans’ disappointment there isn’t an accompanying vegan dip! We take a closer look at whether KFC offers vegan sauces and what other vegan options it has on the menu.

KFC launches Beyond Chicken vegan range

KFC’s meatless nuggets have finally arrived at 4,000 restaurants across the US, and many customers think they’re finger lickin’ good.

The product is a collaboration with vegan brand Beyond Meat. Ethan Brown, founder and chief executive of Beyond Meat, said in a statement:

“We couldn’t be prouder to partner with KFC to offer a best-in-class product that not only delivers the delicious experience consumers expect from this iconic chain, but also provides the added benefits of plant-based meat.”

KFC customers can order a six-piece or 12-piece box of meat-free nuggets or a plant-based combo meal that includes fries and a medium drink.

  • TRENDING: Dominic Fike’s tattoos explored as singer joins Euphoria cast
Photo by VCG/VCG via Getty Images

However, these nuggets are only set to be in restaurants for a limited time, so you’ll have to be quick if you want to get your hands on them.

Is KFC sauce vegan?

Everyone knows a good nugget is nothing without sauce. However, at the moment KFC’s dip options aren’t vegan and the company doesn’t offer a dip alternative apart from ketchup or hot sauce.

Some vegans are upset KFC have provided them with meat-free nuggets but no special vegan sauce to dip them in.

  • MOVIES: Who plays Porsha Crystal in Sing 2’s voice cast?

KFC sauces include Honey BBQ, Ranch, Honey Mustard and KFC sauce.

However, none of these are vegan. According to the allergen information about these sauces, they all contain non-vegan products such as eggs or milk.

It is also important to note KFC says the vegan nuggets are not cooked in a separate deep-fat frier to regular chicken products, as per Veg News.

Fast Foodies | S2 Official Trailer | truTV

BridTV
7638
Fast Foodies | S2 Official Trailer | truTV
https://i.ytimg.com/vi/xJFdRdOUJZ0/hqdefault.jpg
936675
936675
center
22886

What else can you eat at KFC if you’re vegan?

There are other items you can enjoy as a non-meat eater at KFC.

The KFC fries are vegan, as are various side dishes (if you ask them to be prepared without butter). Corn on the cob, sweet kernel corn, green beans, baked beans, potato wedges and the house salad all appear to be vegan.

Some locations also offer a vegan burger, which includes an original-recipe Quorn fillet, lettuce, vegan mayo and a white sesame bun.

If you’re looking for something sweet, the apple turnover is also supposed to be vegan.

However, make sure you confirm the ingredients with your local branch before ordering anything just to be on the safe side.

Have something to tell us about this article?
Let us know
Olivia Olphin is an English Literature graduate and a film and literature fanatic. She has many years of reviewing experience, recently working as accredited press for the London Film Festival. She has also written widely about culture and sex education, as well as LGBTQ+ and women's issues.